A license is required to call yourself a dietitian and/or nutritionist, and, unless you are in a position that is exempt from the licensure requirements, a license is required to practice dietetics/nutrition in North Carolina.
In order to become a licensed dietitian/nutritionist you must:
• Have received at least a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or university with a major course of study in human nutrition, foods and nutrition, dietetics,
community nutrition, public health nutrition or an equivalent major course of study;
• Complete a planned internship, which meets the standards of the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND); and
• Passed an exam as defined by the Board.
• Have received from a regionally accredited college or university a doctorate in human nutrition, nutrition education, foods and nutrition, public health nutrition, or an equivalent major course of study as approved by the Board, or have a Doctor of Medicine.
Regardless of the licensure pathway you choose, you must have successfully completed the Board’s minimum course requirements in social and behavioral sciences, chemistry, biology, human nutrition, diet therapy and advanced nutrition from a regionally accredited school.
For more information on accredited distance education programs as well as North Carolina based Regionally Accredited & ACEND accredited Dietetics programs, please click here.
What is a PLDN?
A PLDN is a Provisionally Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist in North Carolina. This “Category B” or “Provisional” license is the license you are eligible for if you have completed both a regionally accredited academic program, as well as an accredited internship, but have not yet taken or passed the RD exam.
A provisional license is valid for one year from the date of issue and costs $85.00. The provisional licensee then has 6 months to pass the RD exam and “upgrade” to a “Category A” license at a discounted rate of $90.00. If you do not upgrade within the first 6 months of your provisional licensure, you will have to pay the full $175.00 to upgrade your license once you pass the RD exam.
A provisionally licensed dietitian/nutritionist must work under the supervision of an LDN, and acquire a signed statement of this as part of the application process. The supervisor must be willing to take responsibility for the actions of the PLDN until the PLDN obtains his/her “Category A” or “LDN” license. The degree of supervision that is necessary is determined by the supervising LDN and the Facility’s policies/protocols. In determining how much supervision is necessary, the LDN should consider the knowledge and skill of the PLDN and his/her level of competence. It is the responsibility of both the PLDN and supervising LDN to advise the Board if the supervisory relationship terminates or changes.
Some positions do not require licensure. These positions include those working for the local, state or federal government, WIC positions and military positions. Practitioners licensed under Chapter 90 of the North Carolina General Statutes are also exempt from the requirements of the Dietetics Practice Act.
To become provisionally licensed, you must:
• Have your ACEND verification statement from your academic program;
• Have your ACEND verification statement from your supervised practice program;
• Have received an Eligibility Email from CDR; and
• Complete the Category B (Provisional) application, & include the $85.00 fee.
What can I do as a provisional licensee?
• Provide nutrition care services, under the supervision of a Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist; and
• Call yourself a dietitian/nutritionist; and use the credentials “PLDN.”
Category B (Provisional) Applications can be found on our website.